THAT JUST HAPPENED: Monkeys

November 30, 2009

This Monday hadn’t exactly been great by midday. I didn’t get much sleep the night before, I was running slightly late and a vending machine ate 1000 of my yen. Coupled with the fact I didn’t have anything to do at school today (Mondays are reserved for meetings with teachers, no actual classes), the start of this week seemed to be moving at a slug’s pace.

Then noon rolls around, and something awesome happens. Out of the woods that borders my junior high’s dirt athletic area emerges a group of wild monkeys. MONKEYS PEOPLE! About eight or nine of them hopped over the fence and shuffled around the baseball diamond for a few minutes. All the teachers in the office gathered near the window and watched for a few minutes. A few more even popped out to mosey along the top of the fence. Eventually, one teacher went outside armed with a pop-gun possibly kept at school for such primate encounters and scared the monkeys away.

What to take away from this – I do, in fact, live in the boonies, surrounded by baboons. This is probably the most exciting thing that will happen to me all week. And now I feel the need to bring a taser with me to the bus stop.

Leave a Reply

