Sakura Sakura

April 4, 2010

I’m hesitant to say it because, last time I did, it proceeded to snow the very next day (last week). But…I THINK Spring has finally arrived in Japan. The big happening around Japan this time of year is the blooming of the cherry blossom trees, sakura in Japanese. It’s a big ol’ deal – weather forecasts the past few weeks included predictions on when the trees would bloom, commercials feature the blossoms and way too many pop songs about the sakura are released. Photos of the cherry blossom trees don’t come close to capturing the prettiness of the white flowers in person, but that didn’t stop me from snapping a few pictures of the trees around Nabari.

Only felt slightly creepy taking this photo

Only felt slightly creepy taking this photo

Viewing Parties!

Viewing Parties!

(Japanese Fun Fact #54 – This should shock nobody, but I ate at the Hard Rock Cafe this past weekend. Nothing eventful happened…this was a chain-restaurant dining experience…and felt just like eating shamefully big portions of food in front of Sammy Hagar’s guitar in America. Which actually made this an interesting discovery – most American restaurants imported into Japan, McDonald’s or Denny’s or etc., undergo some sort of cultural transformation to attract more Japanese customers. Either different menu items or slightly altered aesthetics. The Hard Rock Cafe might have been ripped out of an American city and flown directly here – nothing about it seemed different. Even the majority of the customers were white people. Save for maybe the Hello Kitty Hard Rock t-shirts for sale in the gift shop, it might have been the most authentically “American” eating experience in Japan. Complete with generous amounts of buffalo sauce.)

(Reasons I Should Be Deported Volume One – I went out to Osaka all-night Staurday. I caught an early train out of Osaka Sunday morning. I was very very sleepy. I managed to forget how to sit down, and sorta slid off the train seat. I fell face first onto the floor. My proudest moment on a train, for sure.)

(Reasons I Should Be Deported Volume Two – I ate at the Hard Rock Cafe in Japan.)

One Response to “Sakura Sakura”

  1. Jonathan said

    Oh my god, that was one of the funniest things I’ve seen. I saw it out of the corner of my eye, so I didn’t get a good look at how it happened, but I heard a thud, saw you face down in the ground, and Alan cracking up.

Leave a Reply

