Pictures I’ve Never Posted Before Or Yes I Do Still Blog

May 15, 2010

So…I sure don’t update this nearly as much as I used to. Chalk that up to several factors – the fact I haven’t done anything really blog-worthy in a long while, Japan is feeling more familiar to me so I’m not nearly as shocked by small details anymore and that I’m in a little bit of a slump at the moment. I’m not even sure what that last point even means – I still am enamored with Japan, and my job and the people I know here are awesome – but I’ve felt more sluggish and maybe hopeless (that might be a bit of a hyperbole, but…semi-hopeless?). Young adult issues don’t make for very original material so I’ll spare you the details. I will, however, make a cheap post by sharing a small number of photos I’ve had sitting on my phone for months now.

1. GET ME RAMBO!

THEY CALLED ME A BABY KILLER

THEY CALLED ME A BABY KILLER

The town game center has, amongst the rows of rip-off claw machines and photo booths, this Rambo machine. I’ve never ever seen such a machine anywhere in America, but the image of Sylvester Stallone unloading an assault rifle coupled with film footage playing in a loop on the screen convinced me that I had to play this game. Much like the Rambo films post-First Blood, Rambo the game focuses on mindlessly shooting everything that appears on screen. Unlike other rail shooter games (recall the scourge of all children on a field trip to the fun center Area 51), no innocent characters run across screen to force you not to spray everything with virtual bullets. EVERYTHING in Rambo the game is an enemy. Just pull the trigger, don’t let go and kill kill kill.

I did not do very well, getting to the part where Rambo jumped out of a trench and blows up a lot of trucks. I’ll practice.

2. In The Japan Self Defense Force

YouTube has already done a splendid job showing the difference between Japanese recruitment ads and their U.S. counterparts, but I’ll add my tiny contribution in anyways. Above is an ad near my old school for the Japanese Self Defense Force, featuring adorable anime characters aimed at tricking the youths across the street from joining in. Not quite “Army Strong” but…probably a good thing.

3. In Other Cute News…

What a wonderful sight.

(Japanese Fun Fact #61 – American movies released in Japan sometimes have different titles whoa! Crazy I know. Though they can be utterly ridiculous. A teacher told me about a film he saw roughly titled “Uncle Carl’s Balloon Adventure In The Sky” or something similarly long-winded. Turns out he saw Up!. Though the Japanese title isn’t without its charms.)

Leave a Reply

