Proof Japan Obsesses About America, Or At Least Its Food (With Bonus Housekeeping)

January 8, 2011

I get off my plane at Narita International Airport and not more than 30 minutes what do I find staring me down outside the McDonald’s located near my hotel? An ad similar to the one above declaring a new crop of Big America burgers have arrived in stores, proving that this gimmick must really sell. The four sorta-new locations serving as culinary themes are Texas 2, Idaho (?), Miami and Manhattan. Click here to get full descriptions of each, though I’ll even spend some space to celebrate the absurd brilliance of the Idaho burger, which completes many a fast-food junkies’ dream of combining the McDonald’s breakfast menu with the regular menu via the inclusion of a whole hash brown on the burger. How that didn’t become an option in America baffles me. One of my New Year’s resolutions was to drop fast food out of my diet, but I might have to break it for the Idaho entry into this series. I’m a very sad individual.

In other 2011 news…you’ve probably noticed how little this blog has been being updated recently. Whooops! Blame it partly on me being surprisingly busy at the end of last year, along with the fact nothing terribly interesting happens to me much anymore which, hey, isn’t actually a bad thing! Still a few semi-interesting things (read: I went somewhere) happened before the end of 2010 and you can expect thrilling write-ups of what I ate in the coming weeks.

One Response to “Proof Japan Obsesses About America, Or At Least Its Food (With Bonus Housekeeping)”

  1. Dagny said

    Rock Bottom Brewery has a burger w/ egg and a hash brown on it! (2am burger): http://www.rockbottom.com/menu/burgerology I had it minus the egg cause the night before I’d already had a burger with an egg on it. Gluttonous life I know.

Leave a Reply

